top of page

The bigger picture of digital accessibility

In their specialist roles web developers have a set of technical guidance they have to follow for the web called the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG).

They use their professional expertise to ensure websites and online platforms meet these technical standards for accessibility.

These professional standards are now a legal requirement and in the UK form part of the The Public Sector Bodies (Websites and Mobile Applications) Accessibility Regulations 2018 (PSBAR) for public body organisations such as:


  • central government

  • local authorities

  • education

  • NHS

You can find out more at understanding accessibility requirements for public sector bodies. Beyond the UK, similar legal requirements and laws for accessible websites and digital content exist around the world.

This doesn’t mean that only web developers, public bodies or those with technical expertise are responsible for digital accessibility.

Everyone who creates any form of digital content can play their part too, no matter what level of IT skills they have.

Even simple adjustments can still make a difference

With the bite-sized digital skills you don’t need to have IT or technical expertise, these beginner level skills are:

  • basic and simple to adopt and can be learned very quickly

  • a way to prevent digital barriers and to make a difference

  • a starting point to learn more about digital accessibility

It should be noted that content on this website is aimed at a beginners level and does not cover all aspects of digital accessibility, it aims to raise awareness, to set the seed as an accessibility acorn.

bottom of page